“Fancy Parade”, Day 2

This is going to be a painting that requires almost nightly work, since I would like to show it next month.

The full sheet of canvas measures 108″ x 68″. Since I work in my apartment which has standard-height ceilings, it will be interesting to see how I devise shooting the whole piece when it is finished. Developing the strategy to get it painted was a head-scratcher.

The quality of the canvas is rougher and the weave is looser than artist-grade material, but the application hasn’t been bad. BUT, I need to keep the paint thin since it isn’t stretched and will be rolled to transport it.

"Fancy Parade", Day 2
“Fancy Parade”, Day 2

This detail is about 2′ x 3′ of the entire piece, or about 20% of the whole piece. I am working it in about 3′ x 6′ sections. The edges in some of this imagery will be cleaned up a bit, and all of the color has yet to be laid down.

To be continued.

One thought on ““Fancy Parade”, Day 2

Leave a comment